THE FELL RUNNERS ASSOCIATION

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT THE CASTLE GREEN HOTEL, KENDAL, ON SATURDAY 13 NOVEMBER 2010.

1. MEMBERS PRESENT: 59 APOLOGIES: 3

- 2. **MINUTES OF 2009 AGM**. The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting (7 November 2009 at the Castle Green Hotel, Kendal) were approved subject to the addition in item 6 a) of references to Mark Hobson Statistician and Richard Lecky-Thompson Junior Co-ordinator. Prop: Wyn Cliff, Sec: Claire Kenny.
- 3. **CHAIRMAN** distributed copies of the FRA Report to the meeting which was taken as read. There were no questions.
- 4. **TREASURER** distributed and reported on the accounts for the year ending 31 July 2010. There were no questions.

5. MOTION

5a Proposed change to the ranking used in the English Championship

Currently the ranking for LV60 runners in the English Championship is calculated from scores in up to three races from the short and medium distances. This motion proposes that this is changed, such that it will be identical to the method of calculation used for MV60 runners: i.e. the ranking will be calculated from scores in up to four of the championship races and, if four races are used, then they must include one from each distance – short, medium and long.

(Motion proposed by Wendy Dodds, seconded by Katy Thompson. The Chairman noted that this was a late motion which had not been discussed or approved by the Executive Committee. The debate on, and conclusion of, the motion would be noted by the Committee when the matter was discussed by them.)

There was a debate on the motion after its proposal by Wendy Dodds.

Voting: For: 43, Against: 51, Abstentions: 5 (including a number of postal votes.) Motion not carried.

6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND COMMITTEE

- a) The Chairman noted the retirements of Tony Varley, Richard Lecky-Thompson and Michael McLoughlin from their posts on the Executive Committee and thanked them for their service to the Association.
- b) Officers. The following Officers were elected unopposed. Chairman Graham Breeze. Secretary – Alan Brentnall. Assistant Secretary - Morgan Williams. Treasurer - Madeleine Watson. Membership Secretary – Pete Bland. Fixtures Secretary – Margaret Chippendale. Championships Coordinator – Jon Broxap. Environment and Access – Chris Knox. Magazine Editor - Britta Sendlhoffer. Website Officer – Brett Weeden. International Selection Committee Chair – Alan Barlow. Coaching Co-ordinator - Graeme Woodward. Welfare Officer - Rod Sutcliffe. FRA Representative to the UK Athletics Mountain Running Advisory Group - Alan Barlow. Statistician – Mark Hobson. Junior Co-ordinator – Emma Clayton.
- c) Club Representatives. Four seats. Six advance nominations. The following were elected after a ballot: Mike Robinson (Dark Peak), Andrew Schofield (Borrowdale), Dave Ward (Pennine) and Nick Harris (Rossendale). Andy Walmsley (Bowland) and Duncan Richards (Helm Hill) were not elected.
- **d)** Membership Representatives. Four seats. Five nominations. The following were elected after a ballot: Ross Powell (Mercia), Andy Walmsley (Bowland), Duncan Richards (Helm Hill) and Thirza Hyde (Calder Valley). Ginnie Willey (Middleton) was not elected.
- 7. ELECTION OF AUDITOR. Neil Hindle, elected unanimously.

8. CHAIRMAN CLOSED THE MEETING.

As usual, there was an open discussion on fell running matters after the formal business was complete.