THE FELL RUNNERS ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT THE CASTLE GREEN HOTEL, KENDAL, ON SATURDAY 13 NOVEMBER 2004.

- 1. MEMBERS PRESENT: 34 APOLOGIES: 6.
- MINUTES OF 2003 AGM. The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting (22 November, 2003 at the Castle Green Hotel, Kendal) were approved. Prop: Andy Schofield, Sec: Brett Weeden.
- **3. CHAIRMAN** distributed copies of his report to the meeting.
- **4. SECRETARY** distributed copies of his report to the meeting.

Based on issues raised in these two reports, there followed a lengthy discussion on recent changes which had been introduced in insurance and registration procedures by UK Athletics and how these changes had affected specific races, and the future ways in which the sport could be managed. Among other things, it was stated that the FRA was now officially affiliated to NoEAA, so that individual members could act as organisers of official events, and the question was raised as to whether this new role the FRA was adopting would increase the FRA's legal exposure. Sue Becconsall agreed to look into this with Morgan Williams, and report back to the Committee. It was agreed that there should be more diligence regarding the rules and safety requirements.

- TREASURER distributed and reported on the accounts for the year ending 31 July 2004. These had been audited by N.Hindle.
 - a) It was confirmed that race organisers who register races, but fail to renew their membership would not be covered by PL Insurance – official events can only be organised by members.
 - b) It was confirmed that the figure for the Alaska trip was the net figure, after all grants etc had been applied.

6. MOTIONS

a) Change to FRA CONSTITUTIONAL RULES.

<u>Section 3 (Management) paragraph (a) (officers) currently reads:-</u>

"the following officers, elected at an Annual General Meeting: Chairman, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, Membership Secretary, Fixtures Secretary, Magazine Editor, Statistician, <u>Press Officer</u>, Environment and Access Officer, Junior Co-ordinator, Championships Co-ordinator, Coach. At least nine of the thirteen officers must have competed in three category "A" fell races in the two years prior to their election."

This motion proposes that this paragraph is amended to read (changes underlined):-

"the following officers, elected at an Annual General Meeting: Chairman, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, Membership Secretary, Fixtures Secretary, Magazine Editor, Statistician, Website Officer, Environment and Access Officer, Junior Coordinator, Championships Co-ordinator, Coach. At least nine of the thirteen officers must have competed in three category "A" fell races in the two years prior to their election."

(Proposed by the Executive Committee.)

After a very brief discussion, **Motion carried unanimously.**

b) Change to FRA RULES FOR COMPETITION.

RULE THREE currently reads:-

"All official UKA fell races must be registered with one of the National Committees. Registration with the FRA will be effected by supplying the Fixtures Secretary with relevant details of the race on the form provided and by its subsequent appearance in the Fixtures Calendar or "The Fellrunner" magazine. A nominal charge may be made to cover Calendar publication expenses and race insurance."

<u>This motion amends this to read (changes underlined):-</u>

"All official UKA fell races must be registered with one of the National Committees. Registration with the FRA will be effected by supplying the Fixtures Secretary with relevant details of the race on the form provided and by its subsequent appearance in the Fixtures Calendar or "The Fellrunner" magazine. A nominal charge may be made to cover Calendar publication."

(Proposed by the Executive Committee.)

After a brief discussion, it was proposed that, because of recent changes imposed by UK Athletics, and because of new methods of publishing race details, the new wording should be amended further to read:-

"All official UKA fell races must be registered with the National Committee of the Territory or Home Country in which the event takes place. Registration with the FRA will be effected by supplying the Fixtures Secretary with relevant details of the race on the form provided and by its subsequent appearance in the Fixtures Calendar or in "The Fellrunner" magazine or on the FRA Website. A nominal charge may be made to cover Calendar publication."

This provoked a small amount of discussion, not least because some thought that the territorial issue was a retrograde step which, in a way, limits our sport unnecessarily. None-the-less, it was agreed that there were no other options at this stage, Amendment and Motion both carried unanimously.

7. ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND COMMITTEE.

Before the election of officers, the Chairman expressed his thanks to Bill Waine, who has held the posts of Press Officer and FRA Representative to Midlands AA for many years, and who is not standing for re-election.

- a) Website Officer. Only one person, Brett Weeden, is standing for this post, and, there being no objections, he was duly elected.
- b) Other Officers. The following Officers were reelected unopposed. Chairman - Alan Barlow. Secretary - Alan Brentnall. Treasurer - Tony Varley. Membership Secretary - Pete Bland. Fixtures Secretary - Margaret Chippendale. Magazine Editor - Dave Jones. Championships Coordinator - Jon Broxap. Environmnent and Access - Chris Knox. Junior Coordinators - Dave and Eileen Woodhead.
- c) Club Representatives. Four seats. Four advance nominations. The following were elected unopposed.; Graham Breeze (Skyrac), Sue Becconasall (Bingley), Steve Barlow (Horwich), Martin Brady (Clayton).
- d) Membership Representatives. Four seats. Four nominations. The following were all elected unopposed.

Neill Goldsmith (Altrincham & District AC) Prop: Alan Barlow, Sec: Alan Brentnall.

Andy Schofield (Borrowdale Fell Runners) Prop: Len l'Anson, Sec: Steve Barlow.

Ross Powell (Eryri) Prop: Sheila Lloyd, Sec: Alan Brentnall.

Adrian Woods (Eryri) Prop: Alan Barlow, Sec: Dave Woodhead.

8. OTHER APPOINTMENTS. The following representatives were elected unanimously:

- a) **WMRA Representative.** Robin Bergstrand.
- b) AAA England Representative. Alan Barlow.

Graham

- c) **NoEAA Representative.**Breeze.
- d) MCAA Representative. To be confirmed at the December Committee Meeting.
- e) **SoEAA Representative.** Paul Chadwick
- **9. AUDITOR.** Neil Hindle, elected unanimously.

10. CHAIRMAN CLOSED THE MEETING.

As usual, a wide ranging discussion on various fell running matters took place after the formal part of the meeting was complete.