The relevant section of the FRA Constitution, is Article 48:-
Subject to the Articles, the Executive Committee members may regulate their proceedings as they think fit. Meetings of the Executive Committee shall be held not less than four times each calendar year. Members may attend meetings of the Executive Committee as observers and may speak at such meetings but may not vote. If any business at a meeting of the Executive Committee is deemed confidential, then any Member attending as an observer will be required to leave the meeting whilst such matter is discussed.

What This Means
Any of the 8,000 members of the FRA may attend a meeting of the Executive Committee to observe, subject to the "confidential" proviso. Such observers are also free to speak but not vote. Normal committee rules are observed, namely that speakers, whether Committee members or observers, should address the meeting via the Chairman, and should restrict what they say to the agenda item under discussion.

Committee members are expected to confirm their attendance in advance of each meeting. For reasons of practicality, any member who wishes to observe should make their request to the Secretary one week before any Executive Meeting. It may be necessary to restrict the numbers of observers if space is limited.

Committee Minutes / Papers
Briefing papers supporting agenda items are issued to Executive Members one week before each meeting. These are normally restricted to the Committee. Meeting Minutes are not circulated to the membership; however, in the interests of transparency, established practice is for the Secretary to produce a report for each Fellrunner to keep all members informed of business conducted by the Executive on their behalf.



The FRA Committee comprises the following roles and personnel. Please click on the Role Summary to see a description of the role, and click here to see a summary of the general requirements and expectations of Committee Members.

Please feel free to contact any Committee Member.

Position Name Club E-mail Phone
Role Summary
Chairman Stuart Ferguson Northumberland Fell Runners Mail 01388 526812 or
07489 881161
General Secretary Neil Talbott Ambleside AC Mail 015394 37824
Treasurer Simon Long Saltwell Harriers Mail 07889 625143
Membership Secretary Patrick McIver Black Combe Runners Mail 07717 224976
Fixtures Andy McMurdo Pennine Fell Runners Mail 07834 912222
Magazine Co-ordinator Dave Littler Bowland Fell Runners Mail 07745 738495  
Championships Co-ordinator Nic Barber Helm Hill Runners Mail 07908 115088
Access & Environment Kathryn Miller Clayton-le-Moor Harriers Mail 07958 396341
Junior Co-ordinator Gareth Hardcastle Mercia Fell Runners Mail 07584 550762
Race Liaison Officer Lead Pita Oates Bowland Fell Runners Mail 07919 884295
Coaching and Education Co-ordinator Nicky Spinks Dark Peak Fell Runners Mail 01465 841374 or
07548 283545
Welfare Officer Ed Gamble Cheshire Hill Racers Mail 0161 4455243
International Selection Chair Duncan Richards Helm Hill Runners Mail 07764 610799  
Liaison Officer to Athletics Bodies Nic Barber Helm Hill Runners Mail 07908 115088
Website Officer Jamie McIlvenny Trawden AC Mail 07725 357024
Membership Representatives Ben Abdelnoor Ambleside AC Mail 07896 151179
  Scout Adkin Ambleside AC
(Scot: Moorfoot Runners)
Mail No mobile  
  Kelli Roberts Helm Hill Runners Mail 07798 753859  
Honorary Committee Members Graham Breeze and Morgan Williams        
Co-optees with specific responsibilities          
Communications Officer James Lowe Dark Peak Fell Runners Mail 07772 298302
Commercial Officer Charmian Heaton Cumberland Fell Runners Mail 07749 844212  
First Aid Co-ordinator Ian Winterburn Dark Peak Fell Runners Mail 07733 266595  



(* = not a member of the Executive Committee)

Committee Chair Members Role Summary
Championships Nic Barber Ben Ablelnoor, Carlos Bedson*  
Disciplinary, Review and Appeals Charmian Heaton all Executive Committee members except Secretary and Welfare Officer; Alison Wainwright*, Chris Evans*  
Juniors Gareth Hardcastle Pin Dhillon-Downey*, Wendy Dodds*, Ed Gamble, Charmian Heaton, Layla Hurst*, Jamie McIlvenny, Graham Wright*  
Safety, Equipment and Rules Neil Talbott Stuart Ferguson, Charmian Heaton, Chris Hodgson*, Andy McMurdo, Steve Wathall*, Andy Watts*, Ian Winterburn
Communication James Lowe Barny Crawshaw*,  Pat McIver, Tory Miller*, Ricky Parrish*, Britta Sendlhofer*, Neil Talbott  
Coaching and Education Nicky Spinks Steve Pearson*, Stuart Ferguson, Ian Winterburn, Graeme Woodward*  



Committee Chair Members Role Summary
Race Liaison Officer Team Pita Oates Catherine Brennan (email) – Lake District North
Pete Tayler (email) – Lake District South
Clive Thornton (email) – North York Moors / Yorkshire Dales / Northumberland & Durham / North Pennines 
Pita Oates (email) – Bowland / NW Lancs / South & West Pennines (plus Shropshire & Welsh Borders / Midlands / South West / South East / Isle of Man)
Peter Ehrhardt (email) – Peak District
Leila Hirst (email) – Junior Championships
Access and Environment Team Kathryn Miller Richard Hindle, Pin Dhillon-Downey, Jessica Williams  
FRA Long Distance Award Panel Martin Stone Rick Ansell, Jon Ashcroft, Adrian Belton, Bob Berzins, Steve Birkinshaw, Jon Broxap, Charlie Campbell, Wendy Dodds, John Fleetwood, Jon Gay, Manny Gorman, Mark Hartell, Anne Johnson, Jim Mann, Mark McDermott, Jasmin Paris, Steve Pyke, Peter Simpson, Nicky Spinks, Hugh Symonds, Ken Taylor, Paul Tierney, Yiannis Tridimas, Chris Upson, Helene Whitaker, Tony Wimbush, Rob Woodall  



  Name E-mail Phone
Handbook Editor Andy McMurdo (Pennine Fell Runners) Mail 07834 912222
Magazine Editor Victoria (Tory) Miller (Ambleside AC) Mail  
Statistician Carlos Bedson (Cheshire Hill Racers) Mail 07917 174576
Equipment Officer Steve Wathall (Black Combe Runners) Mail 01229 467585
Under-23 Training Camp Co-ordinator Sarah McCormack (Ambleside AC) Mail 01539 443322 or 0790 335 3459
Junior Statistics
including Championship and Challenge standings 

Jamie McIlvenny Mail 07725 357 024
FRA Navigation Course Pauline May Mail 07515 129327
Fellrunner Reports and Results Dave Weatherhead and Barbara Carney Mail 01535 273508

England Mountain Running Committee -

Chair Duncan Richards.
Members: Mark Croasdale, Alec Duffield, Carol Evans, Sharon Hudson, Helen MacVicker, Neil Wilkinson, Sarah Wilkinson.



  Name Website E-mail Phone
UKA Information inc Insurance (Contact via Neil Talbott, FRA Secretary) Website Mail  
Northern Ireland Mountain Running Association Anne Sandford (Secretary) Website Mail 07779 254808
Scottish Athletics Hill Running Commission Hugh Buchanan (Convenor) Website Mail 01786 473776
Scottish Hill Runners Jill Stephen (Secretary) Website Mail  
Welsh Mountain Running Committee Arwel Lewis (Secretary) Website Mail 07772 302411
Welsh Fell Runners Association Andrew Blackmore (Secretary) Website Mail 01633 882558
World Mountain Running Association Anne Buckley (UK representative) Website Mail 07817 681826
British Open Fell Runners Association Su Thompson Website Mail 07739 100389
Long Distance Awards Martin Stone   Mail 01931 714106